

# Licensing Sub-Committee

## Minutes of meeting held in Ditchling and Telscombe Rooms - Southover House, Southover Road, Lewes, BN7 1AB on 19 December 2022 at 10.00 am.

### Present:

Councillor Liz Boorman (Chair). Councillors Isabelle Linington and Emily O'Brien.

#### Officers in attendance:

Dean Love (Specialist Advisor (Reg Services)), Nick Peeters (Committee Officer) and Michele Wilkinson (Lawyer (Housing & Regulatory))

#### 1 Election of chair of the sub-committee for this meeting

Councillor Boorman was nominated and seconded as Chair for the duration of the meeting.

#### 2 Apologies for absence/declaration of substitute members

There were none.

## 3 Declarations of interest

There were none.

#### 4 Exclusion of the public and press

**Resolved,** that under Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended), the public and press be excluded from the hearing as there was likely to be disclosures of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1, 2 and 7 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act. The public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information.

## 5 Determination of new application for a Dual Driver Licence

The Chair of the Licensing Sub Committee welcomed all parties to the hearing and detailed the procedure for the hearing. Those attending introduced themselves.

The Specialist Advisor for Licensing, Dean Love, presented the report to the Sub-Committee, summarised the details and answered questions.

The Applicant addressed the Sub Committee and responded to questions.

Mr Love summed up.

The Applicant summed up.

Following all the evidence presented, the Sub-Committee retired to consider and determine the application. Michele Wilkinson, Housing and Regulatory Lawyer was in attendance to assist with any legal queries. The Sub Committee returned to provide the following decision:

**Resolved** to grant the dual driver's licence with a written warning to stay on the licence for one year.

The meeting ended at 11.00 am

Councillor Liz Boorman (Chair)